General Update

The last week has been extraordinarily busy. I’ve had a lot of stuff to get done, and very full days. The Reason Rally, American Atheists Convention, and a trip to the National History Museum, mostly.

Last week I made up a plan for things to keep my mind occupied but not overwhelmed during the day (last post). Implemented that for the first time today, I think it went well.

It’s kind of hard to tell how things are going, because there’s no easy way to quantify the results of arguing with your bad thinking habits. I can feel old habits and potential new habits in there, but which is winning and whether anything is consistent is so context-dependent that it feels impossible to say if I’m making progress. Which is frustrating.

I do, in a general sense, feel significantly more out of the woods than I felt when I went into this, which is presumably a good sign.

I just did my fifth or sixth run of Big 5 exercises this week. Slowly upping the weight. I started out at just 20lbs, next week will be 35. The effect it has on my level of pain varies. A couple of times, it made it go up, at least once it made it go down. This week it didn’t seem to have any effect at all. All in all, I think that’s a good sign–unpredictable is better than consistently bad reactions, which is what I’m used to getting with any form of regular exercise.

