Vigorousness of a Workout vs. Intensity of a Workout vs. Increased Pain Risk

As I mentioned before, two days ago, sex for the first time in a while. Fun, but a bit nervousmaking, since sex has historically aggravated my pain symptoms. Again, as I mentioned, I noticed only a minor uptick in pain afterward, which was reassuring.

Today I took a risk, and did my Big Five workout on schedule, even though I’m still somewhat sore from the sex. I was apprehensive about this, but I didn’t want to deviate from my workout schedule, because it’s really convenient for me to keep it at Tuesday, so I figured I’d do the workout like normal, and see afterward if I thought it was a terrible idea or not.

So far I feel pretty much the same as I always have after doing the workout, which is good news, and kind of interesting. The Big Five workout is designed, among other things, to minimize risk of injury, which it seems to have done very well for me. I think I experience a comparable level of soreness from the workout as from sex, but in a general way, sex tends to be the riskier of the two activities. To me, this seems to suggest that the vigorousness of a workout is more of a risk factor than the intensity of a workout. That is, vigorousness, as in lots of movement, versus intensity, as in the amount of work you’re doing. Sex is a good example of a vigorous workout, and the Big Five work out is an excellent example of what I would think of as intense but not vigorous–you’re doing a lot of work at close to your maximum capacity, but it is all very slow and very controlled. No quick/jerky/furious sorts of movements.

I’m not yet sure how to apply this to other things I do, but I suspect it will turn out to be a helpful observation to store in the back of my mind.

One comment on “Vigorousness of a Workout vs. Intensity of a Workout vs. Increased Pain Risk

  1. Sex is a riskier activity because of the actual movements involved. Unlike an exercise routine which is designed to maximize muscular work while minimizing stress, Sex (and most physical activities) produce a mix of work and (physical) stress. It’s the difference between a tumble, a planned fall, and just plain falling on your face.

    That all being said, your point is also very valid – it’s the sort of movements as well.

    There may be positions which help you minimize stress and body impact while having sex. I’m not at all sure what they are, but it seems very likely given the commonality of back pain that some exist. It might be worth looking into.

Comments are closed.