Liebster Blog Award Questions

Thanks to amateur blogger for this. It made me smile.

think I’m doing this right?

Where in the world to you feel most “at home” and why?

The answer to this question is in flux at the moment. I’ve recently moved to a place that feels more well-suited to feel like a home to me than anywhere else I’ve lived in a while.  In a less location-dependent sense, though, no matter where I am, I like to find a nice park nearby that I can wander in the evening. I generally feel very much like myself walking on my own in a park. Time to think and to breathe and to process all the things that are always happening and feel like it’s just you and the world.

If you could have lunch with any author, dead or alive, who would it be and what would you order?

That is a tough choice. Off the top of my head, I’d likely choose from a list consisting of Richard Feynman, Carl Sagan, Greta Christina, or JT Eberhard. Or perhaps the author of the No Forbidden Questions blog. I think all of those people would guarantee some interesting lunch conversation.

I’d order steak fajitas. Because fuck yes.

A place you have traveled to that MOST surprised you.

I think the uniformity of the appearance of residential areas all the way up and down the East Coast is kind of eerie. Does that count?

What villainous character do you most admire and why?

Ozymandias. Because he thought that shit through.

Item on your “bucket list” that you would be MOST upset if you didn’t accomplish.

Traveling more is a big one. Back pain makes long plane flights challenging at best and both excruciating and a guaranteed depression trigger at worst, so this is a challenging thing to accomplish (to say nothing of it costing money and all that). I would really like to be able to do more traveling.

By ResearchToBeDone Posted in other

2 comments on “Liebster Blog Award Questions

  1. I’m not sure where you originate from but I love and can appreciate your answer to question 3. I was born and raised in NYC, lived in Sydney, Australia, Washington, DC, San Francisco, CA and now Berkeley, CA. The suburb phenomenon is something more foreign to me than anything I’ve experience in my travels.

    Right when I moved to California my parents moved to upstate NY, into one of the cookie cutter towns, into a cookie cutter complex. And yes it is eerie as shit!! Its like a mix of stepford wives and discount department stores, where everyone needs a car because strip malls dominate. I’ve been living in this hell for over a month and it is seriously heinous. My parents hate it too (it’s temporary, a transitional move). I look around and everyone looks the same, has the same cars, talks the same, I seriously can’t take it! No wonder there is an epidemic of high schoolers in rehab here…it can drive anyone with half a brain insane!

    • It is very weird. I didn’t realize how much so until I made a few road trips that went, among other things, up and down the East Coast. I feel like I fit into different parts of the country in different ways. I’m not sure I’ve ever found a place perfectly suited to me—more like I have different things in common with people from each area of the country.

Comments are closed.