Life Update: A Week of Contrast

This week does not know what it is. One day it’s incredibly intense and interesting and cool to the point of being overwhelming and the next it’s slow and pain-y and I feel like an unproductive loser.

I’ve slacked off on studying the last few days and have been trying to find ways to get motivated again. I finally bought Agile Web Development with Rails and also a book on Backbone on Rails, which I’ve taken to reading on walks. That has helped, but it’s only good for 1-2 hours of productivity a day. The rest I know what I should be doing, but I’m having a lot of trouble getting motivated to do it. In part, it’s been one of those weeks where you feel like everyone but you knows how to be a real adult.

Mostly I need to figure out a way to have some structure to my week that enforces some getting out and interacting with people.

Tomorrow I meet someone about a part-time web development job, so if that goes well and is engaging enough for back pain not to be an issue, then I think it will be helpful. It’s not in my language of choice, but if it’s a decent place to work I’ll take what I can get—part time web dev jobs don’t grow on trees, or so I’m told.

Otherwise over the past few weeks, I’ve been working on meeting people, learning to cook, learning to touch type, getting registered to vote, finally getting a real credit card, and finally, finally getting enrolled in school. Classes will start officially in November.

I’ve been exercising, too, and getting in shape has been a frustratingly slow process, particularly with my shoulders still not having fully recovered from being injured in May. Trying to work on them, too, so I can get back to weightlifting.

I’m in a bit of a funk at the moment, and plan to try and do some strategizing on that this weekend. We’ll see how things go. Hopefully up.

