Life Update 2: Experimentation

The last couple of weeks have been a bit of a whirlwind in terms of meeting and getting to know people in the local kinky and polyamorous communities. I’ve been on a few dates, corresponded with a number of people about the dating and/or sexy/kinky things, and been to one event in particular where I found myself feeling unexpectedly popular. Neat, if overwhelming.

It’s been a combination of both fun and somewhat high stress, as I’m having to ask myself a number of questions about what I want and how to communicate that all at once. On the one hand, having a lot of people interested in me is really cool. It’s especially cool because, as it turns out, my writing has been a catalyst for some of the interest that’s come my way (you really can’t beat that as a compliment). I find myself feeling like I’m in a place where a lot of people want to be, and where, generally, I’m told I want to be (sexy things with lots of cute people, yay!), and have opportunities both to spend fun time with people and to figure out exactly what it is I want. There’s a lot of room to figure that out.

I have to be a bit careful with all of these things happening, because too much stress, even if it comes from things I’m glad about, is still a potential trigger for my depression. I’ve been able to feel myself, a few times, teetering over the edge and back. At the moment, I feel like I’ve got a decently good handle on it.

I feel like I had more to write on this. Maybe today will be one of those “a bunch of little chunks of writing” days.

