Going Vegan

I’m going vegan.

This has been something I’ve been thinking about for a while, and for the last year or so have mostly just been thinking “Yeah, someday…” about. After having a few conversations with a couple of vegan friends of mine, recently, though, my feeling of moral discomfort over funding the things that happen in the animal products industry reached a tipping point a little over a week ago. With a little less ignorance, and suddenly significantly less ability to rationalize, I decided it was time to go for it.

I wasn’t even vegetarian before, so I more or less, as a friend put it, went “from zero to vegan” in the space of about a week.

It has been a surprisingly easy transition so far. My diet didn’t consist of a whole lot of animal products before, and the ones that it did consist of have been fairly easy to replace. The transition would’ve been much more difficult a year ago, but these days all I really had to do was find substitutes for milk, cream cheese, and turkey. So far, coconut milk, fake cream cheese, and soy curls have been sufficient for that. I will very much miss steak fajitas at Chipotle, and a few other types of going out foods, but so far this has been a pretty simple transition.

One of the things I have noticed is that I feel significantly more uncomfortable than I ever did before owning other things made of animal products. Floggers, for example (seriously, does anyone know anyone who makes decent floggers that aren’t made of leather?). Deciding to go vegan has meant I’ve more or less abandoned the rationalizations I was using to not be vegan, which has meant that the full weight of moral discomfort associated with animal products is now something I’m experiencing about a variety of things all at once.

I don’t have a whole lot of insightful things to say about the experience yet, but perhaps those will come in time. At the very least, I have managed to put yet another topic between this blog and the “have a single topic of focus” rule of blogging.

8 comments on “Going Vegan

  1. Okay as I don’t actually know how to link things this might be a bit unweildy but still:

    She-Bop is a local (to me) shop that does sales online, here’s the non-leather flogger section, they have other non-leather products too:
    http://www.sheboptheshop.com/index.php?c=92

    the sensual vegan has been awesome but they are currently going out of business so that could change. but they have all the current stock on sale so check it out
    http://www.thesensualvegan.com/

    smitten kitten is awesome as well and you can use the code Tristain for a discount there (or at least you could last time I ordered)
    https://www.smittenkittenonline.com/vegans-are-super-sexy/vegan-floggers-paddles-crops-canes.html

    aslan recently started doing vegan options, haven’t gotten a chance to use them yet though:
    http://www.aslanleather.com/catalog/whips/veganfloggers

    recycled bicycle has some gorgeous offerings:
    http://www.therecycledbicycle.com/p/vegan-floggers.html

    and finally frugal domme has some fun stuff too:
    http://frugaldomme.com/catalog/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=311

    I have more but I figure this is a good place to start.

    • By any chance, do you know what vegan floggers are generally made of? The ones of these that say say rubber, which is generally stingier than is my preference, but I’m not sure what I should be assuming about the ones that don’t say.

  2. Welcome to the secret vegan collective, then, from a long-time lurker and first-time commenter. Your secret package from the Vegan Police should arrive shortly, including but not limited to an instruction manual for your new vegan powers, a bunch of tutorials for secret handshakes, and of course your login data to the the Vegan Headquarters where we plan for world domination. 🙂

    Keep up the good work, here on the webz as well as in real life!

  3. There was a vendor at Frolicon for several years who sold specifically vegan products, though I don’t recall the name. (He was a small, family business out of PA as I recall.) A quick Google search turns up many hits, so you should be able to find what you’re looking for, although from what I’ve seen, it’s easier to find rubber offered as the vegan option in floggers than it is to find something like a faux suede or pleather version, so if you favor the lighter, more sensual stuff, you may have to look harder or get something made custom. Etsy appears to have a number of shops who could do custom work for you, though.

    I made the switch to a “reduced cruelty” diet almost 5 years ago, and eventually found good substitutes for the things I really craved (BBQ was a big one, but Morningstar Farms Ribs solved that). Granted, because I accept eggs and dairy, my options are vastly greater, but I was surprised at how easy it was for this veggie-averse carnivore to make the switch. 🙂

    Good luck and congratulations!

  4. A couple of off-the-cuff thoughts on non-food animal products:

    -Personally, I’m pretty comfortable with thrift store leather. While I wouldn’t go for it for something like a jacket or pants, I have leather boots that I picked up at Goodwill a couple of years ago, and feel good about. Ask me about my shockingly uncomplicated feelings on bootblacking sometime! At the point that it’s second-hand, you’re no longer supporting the industries themselves. While there’s an argument to be made about supporting the normalization of animal products, I find it much less compelling.

    -I’d make that same case for items that you already own. If it’s a matter of personal squick, I definitely understand that, but if it’s a matter of ethics, I think you’re on safe territory with what is already in your possession.

    -Maui Kink has some pretty solid vegan options. They definitely offer vegan cuffs, and it looks like they’ve got some flogger options. They do in fact use the term ‘vegan’ on their site, so I think you’d be fine to shoot them an e-mail with what you’re looking for and they’d know how to work with you on it.

    – ❤

Comments are closed.