Learning Lost

I am curious about people. I’m not talking about in a general way right now, I mean on the individual level. I think curiosity is one of the purest expressions of love.

I don’t like first dates where you can’t talk. I don’t like first dates where you can’t learn about the person you’re with. Movies, for example.

Miri made a Tumblr post just now about wanting to feel special to people. Wanting to be seen as unique and irreplaceable — wanting to feel like you would be missed if you weren’t in someone’s life anymore. It got me thinking about how and why I miss people when I miss them, and I wonder if part of it might be this:

You know how people say that the more you learn about something the less you know? I absolutely think that’s true. The more you learn about any subject, the more you become aware of just how much there is to know.

I think that this is true about people, too.

I love learning about people. I love learning. Just like with any other subject, the more you learn about a person, the more you realize just how much there is to know about them. When you’re learning about a person, that is stuff that you will only ever be able to learn from that one person, and no one else.

The more you learn about someone, the more you know there is to learn about them. The more you know there is to learn about them, the more learning you know is lost if they end up not in your life anymore. That learning can’ t happen then, and it can’t be gotten from any other person in the universe, because it’s about them and them alone.

By ResearchToBeDone Posted in other